UEFA draw update

Awonusi Abiodun
Awonusi Abiodun August 29, 2019
Updated 2019/08/29 at 4:05 PM

When and where is the draw?

The 2018/19 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony begins at 18:00 CEST on Thursday 29 August. It takes place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and will be streamed live on UEFA.com.

Who is involved in the draw?

 LOG IN FOR FREE TO WATCH THE HIGHLIGHTSWatch Liverpool’s 2019 final triumphESP: Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, ValenciaENG: Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City, Tottenham HotspurITA: Juventus, Napoli, Internazionale Milano, AtalantaGER: Bayern München, Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen, RB LeipzigFRA: Paris, Lyon, LOSC LilleRUS: Zenit, Lokomotiv MoskvaPOR: Benfica UKR: Shakhtar DonetskBEL: Club Brugge, GenkTUR: GalatasarayAUT: SalzburgGRE: OlympiacosCZE: Slavia PrahaNED: AjaxCRO: GNK DinamoSRB: Crvena zvezda

What are the draw pots?

Pot 1

Liverpool (ENG, holders)Chelsea (ENG, UEFA Europa League winners)Barcelona (ESP)Manchester City (ENG)Juventus (ITA)Bayern (GER)Paris (FRA)Zenit (RUS)

Pot 2

Real Madrid (ESP) coefficient 146.000Atlético Madrid (ESP) 127.000 Borussia Dortmund (GER) 85.000 Napoli (ITA) 80.000Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) 80.000Tottenham Hotspur (ENG) 78.000 Ajax (NED) 70.500Benfica (POR) 68.000

Pot 3

Lyon (FRA) 61.500 Bayer Leverkusen (GER) 61.000  Salzburg (AUT) 54.500Olympiacos (GRE) 44.000 Club Brugge (BEL) 39.500 Valencia (ESP) 37.000Internazionale Milano (ITA) 31.000 GNK Dinamo (CRO) 29.500

Pot 4

Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) 28.500 Genk (BEL) 25.000 Galatasaray (TUR) 22.500 RB Leipzig (GER) 22.000 Slavia Praha (CZE) 21.500 Crvena zvezda (SRB) 16.750 Atalanta (ITA) 14.945 LOSC Lille (FRA) 11.699The draw takes place in Monaco©Getty ImagesClubs’ coefficients are determined either by the sum of all points won in the previous five years or by the association coefficient over the same period – whichever is higher (under a new system introduced for 2018/19 onwards).

How does the draw work?

The 26 teams given direct entry to the group stage under the competition system introduced in 2018/19 are joined by the six winners of the play-off ties.The teams are split into four seeding pots. Pot 1 consists of the holders, the UEFA Europa League winners and the champions of the six highest-ranked nations. Pots 2 to 4 are determined by the club coefficient rankings.No team can play a club from their own association and, based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, clubs from Russia and Ukraine must not be drawn in the same group.In the case of associations with two or more representatives, clubs will be paired in order to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday.If a paired club is drawn, for example, in Groups A, B, C or D, the other paired club – once drawn – will automatically be assigned to one of Groups E, F, G or H.The draw also establishes the groups for the UEFA Champions League path of the UEFA Youth League.

    Share this Article